Water for elephants

20120924-014850.jpg

Not the first book on the list, but one I got quite easily swept away with.

(The obligatory) Summary: young Ivy-league student faced with sudden family tragedy stumbles upon a circus train and takes off into the night. Enters a new world, of survival, caring for animals and a gradual crush on the circus’ star which leads to dire consequences.
It’s romance, drama and good storytelling.

Tick tock: if you have very little time, read this. It’s worth it. I’m not a fan of ‘period’ dramas, but the storytelling (employing a mix of first person narrative, flashback technique, moving you through past and present) is quite easygoing and soon takes you on a journey.

I found myself hiding under the covers, reading covertly by lamplight and stuffing this book into my bag…eager to continue where I had left off, always mid-adventure.